Governing Board

A multi-stakeholder Governing Board, co-chaired by the OECD’s Secretary-General and UNDP’s Administrator (or nominated delegate) is comprised of a maximum of 8 members, including members from governments of Host Administration and Partner Administration countries, civil society, academic institutions and/or private sector. Such individuals have expertise, experience and interest in international development, public finance and/or taxation. The Governing Board aims to maintain a representative regional and gender balance. Members serve for 3 years with the possibility of renewal. Members do not receive payment for their services, although international travel and per diems may be provided on a case-by-case basis for them to attend meetings of the Governing Board.

The Governing Board provides guidance and international visibility for TIWB Programmes and makes recommendations concerning the design of the initiative, if required.

Achim Steiner

Administrator, UNDP

Achim Steiner became UNDP Administrator on 19 June 2017 and will serve for a term of four years. The United Nations General Assembly confirmed his nomination on 19 April 2017....  


More →

Mathias Cormann

Secretary-General, OECD

Mathias Cormann is the 6th Secretary-General of the Organisation for Economic Co-operation and Development (OECD). His five-year term commenced on 1 June 2021...


More →

John Christensen

John Christensen was trained as both an auditor and a development economist and was co-founder and director of the Tax Justice Network International Secretariat...

More →

Sir Paul Collier

Sir Paul Collier is Professor of Economics and Public Policy at the Blavatnik School of Government and a Professorial Fellow of St Antony’s College, Oxford...

More →

Bob Hamilton

Bob Hamilton was appointed as the Commissioner of the Canada Revenue Agency (CRA) effective August 1, 2016. Prior to joining the CRA, Bob served as Deputy Minister of Environment Canada...

More →

Nora Lustig

Nora Lustig is Samuel Z. Stone Professor of Latin American Economics and the founding Director of the Commitment to Equity Institute (CEQ) at Tulane University...

More →

Dr. Ekniti Nitithanprapas

Dr. Ekniti Nitithanprapas is Director-General of the Excise Department of the Revenue Department of Thailand...


More →

Key responsibilities

  • Promote the TIWB Initiative to potential Host Administrations, providers of tax audit experts, civil society, international and regional organisations and the international development community.
  • Identify and encourage opportunities for greater South-South co-operation.
  • Build political support for the TIWB Initiative in both potential Host Administration and Partner Administration countries.
  • Assist the TIWB fundraising activities by identifying and engaging with potential donors.
  • Monitor the work plan and review the activities of the TIWB Secretariat and the TIWB Fund.
  • Endorse the annual report.
  • Incorporate lessons and opportunities for enhancing the TIWB initiative identified through the Board’s promotion and fundraising activities.
  • Endorse progress and achievements of the TIWB Initiative through annual reporting.


The Governing Board holds one annual meeting, but additional meetings may be convened if and when required. All Board matters are approved by consensus. The meeting(s) may be held by using electronic means if needed. Hosting of each Governing Board meeting is made in consultation with the Co-Chairs. The meeting minutes are drafted by the TIWB Secretariat.


The Co-Chairs present an annual TIWB Workplan to the members for review and approval. The approved work plan sets out the TIWB Secretariat and Fund activities for the period.

The TIWB Secretariat maintains operational responsibilities for the activities.